Yatha Butha Jazz Combo (Onra / Buddy Sativa)

05.25.13 Posted in Blog, Releases by

12 track spiritual, deep jazz LP from Parisian producer Onra and friend – fellow producer, composer and arranger – Buddy Sativa. Combining as the Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo this LP may be a surprise to followers of Onra, while Buddy Sativa will be known to some via his own 2011 jazz leaning LP “Deus Ex Machina” on Favorite Records. There they collaborated on their first jazz track -”Indica”. Pleased with the results they carried on, keeping it simple and adhering to straightforward play-more-jazz stylings they have crafted this LP over sessions sandwiched between their assorted commitments over the last two years. Opening the LP “Universe is Love”, a shout to Lonnie Liston Smith, is the first track they created under the new no-rules-spontaneity rules. The rest of the LP was created in a similar vein – a drum pattern for tempo or a bassline for tone and layering instrumentation repeatedly on top. Mistakes allowed and encouraged!

Spoken word from Brooklyn poet Aja Monet on “The Time is Now”, otherwise its an instrumental trip.So Yatha Bhuta – as it really is, insight, a mix of experience and spontaneity, a LP not created for release, more a liberating, therapeutic break from their other oft constraining aliases. Jazz because they like it and not for the sake of it, a chance meeting with the late Mati Klarweins son at an exhibition in Dublin, led to the icing on the cake as the record is beautifully housed by the artists “Conceptual Tree” painting.

  1. Universe Is Love Listen Now

  2. UFO Paradise Listen Now

  3. Dark Karma Listen Now

  4. 360-¦ Listen Now

  5. The Muse Inside Listen Now

  6. Endangered Species Listen Now

  7. Honey, Hash, Rose Listen Now

  8. The Garden Of Heavenly Delights Listen Now

  9. The Time Is Now Listen Now

  10. Cos(X) Listen Now

  11. Untitled (Afrojazz) Listen Now

  12. Wandering, Wondering Listen Now